Press release 3 February 2017

Olli Rehn to chair FIN-FSA Board

The Parliamentary Supervisory Council has appointed Dr Olli Rehn, Member of the Board of the Bank of Finland, as Chairman of the Board of the Financial Supervisory Authority (FIN-FSA), with effect from 1 February 2017. In this post, Dr Rehn replaces Mr Pentti Hakkarainen, whose term of office at the Bank of Finland has just ended. 

Dr Martti Hetemäki, Permanent State Secretary, Ministry of Finance, acts as Vice-Chairman of the FIN-FSA Board. The other Board members are Ms Outi Antila, Director-General, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health; Ms Pirkko Juntti, LLM (trained on the bench); and Dr Vesa Vihriälä, Managing Director, Research Institute of the Finnish Economy. Dr Katja Taipalus, Head of Department, acts as deputy for Dr Rehn. Acting as deputy for Dr Hetemäki is Mr Jaakko Weuro, Ministerial Adviser. Ms Antila’s deputy is Dr Mikko Kuusela, Senior Actuary.

The corresponding Finnish-language press release was published on 1 February 2017.