News release 15 December 2015 – 18/2015

Change to Bank of Finland deputy on FIN-FSA Board

On 18 November 2015, the Parliamentary Supervisory Council decided to appoint Katja Taipalus, DsocSc, as a deputy member of the Board of the Financial Supervisory Authority (FIN-FSA) as from 15 December 2015 until the expiry of the Board’s three-year term that began on 1 January 2015.

Doctor Taipalus will transfer to the post of Head of the Financial Stability and Statistics Department at the Bank of Finland on 15 December 2015. She will take up both of her new duties as successor to Kimmo Virolainen, who is moving to Washington to the post of Alternate Executive Director at the International Monetary Fund (IMF), with effect from 18 January 2016.

The FIN-FSA Board is chaired by Pentti Hakkarainen, Deputy Governor of the Bank of Finland. Martti Hetemäki, Permanent State Secretary, Ministry of Finance, acts as Vice Chairman of the FIN-FSA Board. The other Board members are Outi Antila, Director-General, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health; Pirkko Juntti, LLM; and Vesa Vihriälä, Managing Director, Research Institute of the Finnish Economy. Acting as deputy to Martti Hetemäki is Ministerial Adviser Jaakko Weuro. The deputy to Outi Antila is Senior Actuary Mikko Kuusela.