Press release 16 February 2018

Marja Nykänen to chair FIN-FSA Board

The Parliamentary Supervisory Council has appointed Marja Nykänen, LLM (trained on the bench), as member of the Board of the Financial Supervisory Authority with effect from 1 April 2018 and designated her as its Chairman. The current Chair, Dr Olli Rehn has been designated as Deputy Chairman of the Board of the Bank of Finland and the Bank’s Deputy Governor with effect from today, and he will step down from his post on the FIN-FSA Board as of 1 April 2018.

Dr Martti Hetemäki, Permanent State Secretary, Ministry of Finance, will continue as Vice-Chairman of the FIN-FSA Board. The other Board members are Ms Outi Antila, Director-General, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health; Dr Vesa Vihriälä, Managing Director, Research Institute of the Finnish Economy; and Markku Pohjola, B.Sc. (Econ.).